Skip to main content


RIGHT EFFORT WHAT, now, is Right Effort? There are Four Great Efforts: the effort to avoid, the effort to overcome, the effort to develop, and the effort to maintain. What, now, is the effort to avoid? There, the disciple incites his mind to avoid the arising of evil, de meritorious things that have not yet arisen; and he strives, puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles. Thus, when he perceives a form with the eye, a sound with the ear,an odor with the nose, a taste with the tongue, a contact with the body, or an object with the mind, he neither adheres to the whole, nor to its parts. And he strives to ward off that through which evil and demeritorious things, greed and sorrow, would arise, if he remained with unguarded senses; and he watches over his senses, restrains his senses. Possessed of this noble "Control over the Senses," he experiences inwardly a feeling of joy, into which no evil thing can enter. This is called the effort to avoid. What, now, is the effort to Overcome? There, the disciple incites his mind to overcome the evil, de meritorious things that have already arisen; and he strives, puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles. He does not retain any thought of sensual lust, ill-will, or grief, or any other evil and de meritorious states that may have arisen; he abandons them, dispels them, destroys them, causes them to disappear.
FIVE METHODS OF EXPELLING EVIL THOUGHTS If, whilst regarding a certain object, there arise in the disciple, on account of it, evil and de meritorious thoughts connected with greed, anger and delusion, then the disciple should, by means of this object, gain another and wholesome object. Or, he should reflect on the misery of these thoughts: "Unwholesome, truly, are these thoughts! Blame able are these thoughts! Of painful result are these thoughts!" Or, he should pay no attention to these thoughts. Or,he should consider the compound nature of these thoughts. Or, with teeth clenched and tongue pressed against the gums, he should, with his mind, restrain, suppress and root out these thoughts; and in doing so, these evil and de meritorious thoughts of greed, anger and delusion will dissolve and disappear; and the mind will inwardly become settled and calm, composed and concentrated. This is called the effort to overcome. What, now, is the effort to Develop? There the disciple incites his will to arouse meritorious conditions that have not yet arisen;and he strives, puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles. Thus he develops the "Elements of Enlightenment," bent on solitude, on detachment, on extinction, and ending in deliverance,namely: Attentiveness, Investigation of the Law, Energy, Rapture,Tranquility, Concentration, and Equanimity. This is called the effort to develop. What, now, is the effort to Maintain? There, the disciple incites his will to maintain the meritorious conditions that have already arisen, and not to let them disappear, but to bring them to growth, to maturity and to the full perfection of development; and he strives,puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles. Thus, for example, he keeps firmly in his mind a favorable object of concentration that has arisen, as the mental image of a skeleton, of a corpse infested by worms, of a corpse blue-black in color, of a festering corpse, of a corpse riddled with holes, of a corpse swollen up. This is called the effort to maintain. Truly, the disciple who is possessed of faith and has penetrated the Teaching of the Master, he is filled with the thought: "May rather skin, sinews and bones wither away, may the flesh and blood of my body dry up: I shall not give up my efforts so long as I have not attained whatever is attainable by manly perseverance, energy and endeavor!" This is called right effort. The effort of Avoiding, Overcoming,
Of Developing and Maintaining:
These four great efforts have been shown
By him, the scion of the sun.
And he who firmly clings to them,
May put an end to all the pain.


Popular posts from this blog

3d images of Sai baba of Shirdi

These are some more 3d images created out of photographs of the great Indian saint Sai Baba of Shirdi.

3d photos of Shirdi Sai Baba

These are 3d photos of the great Indian Saint Sai Baba of Shirdi

3d Photo-frames Shree Swami Samarth

Shree Swami Samarth Maharaj of Akkalkot in Sholapur District of Maharashtra is a very popular saint.Numerous miracles are attributed to him.He is considered to be an Avatar of the Hindu God Dattatreya. Related articles Gayatri Aarti English-Hindi (

7 Most Beneficial Jain Mantras for Everyone

The 7 Jain Mantras that have been described in this article are considered to be the most potent and beneficial Mantras for getting all kinds of benefits, like peace of mind, a gain of intelligence and knowledge, unexpected wealth, and every kind of joy and happiness.

Shirdi Sai Baba 3d images

This is a beautiful template of six 3d images of the same photo of Sai Baba of Shirdi

3d Photos of Shirdi Sai Baba 2

These are more 3d photos made from the same photo of the great Indian Saint Sai Baba of Shirdi


(1)I bow to that Ṣrî Hari (Vishṇu), the infinite bliss, the Teacher, the Supreme Lord, all-pervading, the prime-cause of all the worlds. Direct realisation is herein expounded as a means to liberation. It should be studied, again and again, with great effort, only by the wise. (2) By following the duties of one's own caste and order, by asceticism and by the propitiation of Hari, men will gain the four-fold requisite of freedom from desires, etc. (3) Spotless freedom from desires means such a dissatisfaction in respect of all objects from Brahman down to the inanimate as is felt in respect of the excrement of a crow. (4) Discrimination of the real means the determination that the nature of the self is eternal while, all that is perceptible is otherwise (5) The constant eradication of mental impressions is called control of mind. The restraint of external activities is called control of body. (6) Extreme abstention is the turning away from the objects of enjoyment. The

Symbol of the Indian Rupee

Udaya Kumar, a post graduate in Design from Indian Institute of Technology Bombay has designed the symbol of the Indian Rupee. This symbol has come into effect from 15th July, 2010.  The symbol is an amalgam of Devanagari "Ra" and the Roman Capital "R" with two parallel horizontal stripes running at the top representing the national flag and also the "equal to" sign.

Money Attraction Lakshmi Yantra

The Magic Yantra described in this article is a very beneficial Lakshmi Prapti Taweez or a Good Luck Charm to Attract money and wealth into your life and enjoy that wealth and be happy and satisfied.

sab ka malik ek - image

Sab ka malik ek or every one's god is one is the popular saying of Sai Baba of Shirdi.This is a image of the saying.