Skip to main content

How to use Custom Robots Txt and Custom Robots Header Tags in Blogger Themes

Most New Bloggers are confused about using the robot.txt and custom robots header tags in Blogger Themes. If you are unsure and do not how to use these settings, the best option is not to use them because using the wrong SEO Settings will make it difficult for your Posts and Pages to rank in search engines.

Doing this will enable the Default Blogger Settings, which in my opinion are optimal for getting your Blog indexed. In this post, I have given a simple step-by-step tutorial using images for using these settings.

Go to Settings: Crawlers and indexing:

Enable custom robots.txt: Grey out everything as shown in the image given below and save. If you have added any custom robots.txt in this section remove it.

Crawlers and indexing settings in Blogger
This will re-enable the default Blogger robot.txt 

User-agent: Mediapartners-Google

User-agent: *
Disallow: /search
Allow: /


Enable custom robots header tags: Grey out everything and save as shown in the images given below and click on save to save the settings.

Custom robots tags for  home page:

robots tags for  home page in Blogspot

Custom robots tags for archives and search pages:

Custom robots tags for archives and search pages:

Custom robots tags for posts and pages:

Custom robots tags for posts and pages in Blogspot Themes


Popular posts from this blog


(1)I bow to that Ṣrî Hari (Vishṇu), the infinite bliss, the Teacher, the Supreme Lord, all-pervading, the prime-cause of all the worlds. Direct realisation is herein expounded as a means to liberation. It should be studied, again and again, with great effort, only by the wise. (2) By following the duties of one's own caste and order, by asceticism and by the propitiation of Hari, men will gain the four-fold requisite of freedom from desires, etc. (3) Spotless freedom from desires means such a dissatisfaction in respect of all objects from Brahman down to the inanimate as is felt in respect of the excrement of a crow. (4) Discrimination of the real means the determination that the nature of the self is eternal while, all that is perceptible is otherwise (5) The constant eradication of mental impressions is called control of mind. The restraint of external activities is called control of body. (6) Extreme abstention is the turning away from the objects of enjoyment. The

Symbol of the Indian Rupee

Udaya Kumar, a post graduate in Design from Indian Institute of Technology Bombay has designed the symbol of the Indian Rupee. This symbol has come into effect from 15th July, 2010.  The symbol is an amalgam of Devanagari "Ra" and the Roman Capital "R" with two parallel horizontal stripes running at the top representing the national flag and also the "equal to" sign.

National Emblem of India

The four lions which stand for power, courage, pride and confidence, these four lions resting on a circular abacus girded by four smaller animals who are the guardians of the four directions, lion of the north, the elephant of the east, the horse of the south and the bull of the west make up the National Emblem of India.  At the bottom is inscribed 'Satyameva Jayate' meaning’ truth alone triumphs'.